Connect with us

Boxing Picks

David Benavidez vs David Lemieux Prediction and Best Bet

David Benavidez vs David Lemieux Prediction and Best Bet

Though there are alot of bouts this weekend on the boxing slate, there is not much that gets the appetite watering for a bet on picking a winner this weekend. However there is some good value in over/unders this weekend. Let’s see what I like below.

David Benavidez vs David Lemieux

Date: Saturday, May 21
Time: 10 p.m. ET / 3 a.m. BST
Ring Walks (approx): Midnight ET / 5 a.m. BST
Network: Showtime

On paper, this bout has the cliche “ will be fun while it lasts” moniker attached to it. David Benavidez will be looking to impress to hopefully land a major fight with either Jermell Charlo or Canelo Alvarez, should he not take the rematch against Dmitry Bivol. So i expect to get a really good and on point version of Benavidez.

While David Lemieux (43-4, 36 KO’s)may not have the best chin in boxing, he still displays a fierce right hand and a ton of heart that we saw in the Gennady Golovkin fight. The right hand will have to keep Benevadiz honest for some time. Through all of Lemieux’s losses, none have come before the 7th round with 2 going to decision and 2 losses occurring in the 7th and 8th rounds.

Benavidez (25-0, 22 KO’s) may be the goods at 168 lbs but he has not registered an early stoppage since his 2019 KO of J’Leon Love. His last 4 bouts he has registered knock out victories in the second half of the fight.

I do like Benavidez to win here and by knockout as the bookies do feel the same. A KO bet is -800 in most books and Benavidez is a -1400 favorite to win outright. The over under for this bout is 4.5. I like the over at -120.

Joshua Buatsi vs Craig Richards

Date: Saturday, May 21
Time: 7 p.m. BST / 2 p.m. ET
Main event ringwalks (approx): 10.15 p.m. BST / 5.15 p.m. ET
Network: DAZN

This light heavyweight domestic tilt should also be a firefight but one with a little more technique. Joshua Buatsi(15-0, 13 KO’s) has won 13 of his 15 fights by knockout. Out of those 13 knockouts, only 1 has come after the 9th round.

Richards 17-2-1, (10 KO”2 has proven to be a tough out because he has not been stopped yet in his career. His two losses came to Dmitry Bivol and Frank Buglioni. Buglioni has since faded in the abyss since his last loss in 2018. Yes Bivol is a bad dude but he’s comfortable winning his fights by decision even when he is dominating.

Buatsi’s resume isn’t eye popping but this is a fight that may put him on the map if he wins convincingly. I think he does by stoppage between rounds 7 and 9.

DraftKings 1st Deposit Bonus Offer

Users will receive a first deposit match at 20% value of their initial deposit, which means to claim the full $1,000 in bonus funds, they must deposit $5,000.

Bonus funds will be awarded to the user according to the following play-through requirement: for every $25 played on DraftKings in DFS/Sportsbook/Casino, the user will receive $1 in bonus funds released into their customer account (e.g., a $5,000 deposit requires a customer to play through a cumulative total of $25,000 in daily fantasy contests, sportsbook (-300 odds or longer), casino products, or any combination thereof to receive the maximum possible bonus amount of $1,000). 

This content is for entertainment purposes only. For full details and disclosures, see our Terms of Use.

Sportsbook Reviews

Advertisement PointsBet sign up bonus

More in Boxing Picks